Subscribe Now

Keep up with the latest news with our magazine and e-newsletter free subscription
Subscribe to our E‑Newsletter

BIA Extends Entry Deadline for Brick in Architecture Awards

RESTON, Va. – Architects and designers around the country now have until May 9 to enter their best projects in the 2016 Brick in Architecture Awards.

Judged by a jury of peers, the Brick Industry Association’s annual design competition honors outstanding, innovative and sustainable architecture in 10 categories that incorporate clay brick products as the predominant exterior building or paving material.

Entries are conducted entirely online at, and the winners will be announced in June.

Architectural and design firms may enter their best projects completed since January 1, 2011, in which new clay brick products comprise the predominant exterior building or paving material (over 50 percent). These include face or hollow brick, building brick, thin brick, paving brick, glazed brick, structural glazed facing tile, new clay brick products in special shapes and/or a combination of any of these aforementioned units.

Entries must be submitted online in one or more of the below categories:

  • Commercial
  • Education – K-12
  • Education – Colleges & Universities (Higher Education)*
  • Health Care Facilities
  • Municipal / Government
  • Houses of Worship
  • Residential – Single Family
  • Residential – Multi-Family
  • Paving & Landscape Projects
  • Renovation (Additions)** / Restoration (Restoring)

*Includes residence halls & academic/administrative buildings
**Additions must use at least 50 percent new clay brick products on the building. Restoration must include at least 50 percent clay brick products, which must be new brick placed in the wall.

Best in Class winners will receive national recognition and all entrants will be features in BIA’s online Photo Gallery.

Tags: , ,

Posted April 28, 2016

More Articles: