Winners Named for 9th Annual IIDA Healthcare Design Awards

IIDA has announced the winners of the 2021 IIDA Healthcare Design Awards. Recognized for their outstanding originality and excellence in design and furnishings in healthcare spaces, firms were awarded across categories within ambulatory, hospitals and extended care and assisted living facilities. All submissions were also eligible for a Transformation and Innovation Award recognizing projects leading the industry and advancing healthcare outcomes.

Projects were reviewed by a panel of healthcare design professionals, including NYU Langone Medical Center Assistant Project Manager Elsie St. Léger, Assoc. IIDA, WELL AP; Tarpaulin Studio Interior Design Lead Anne Cunningham, FIIDA, Assoc. AIA; and Gresham Smith Interior Designer Lakiesha Stanley, IIDA, NCIDQ.

The 2021 IIDA Healthcare Design Awards recipients include:

Ambulatory – Cancer Center

Design Firm: GBBN (Cincinnati, Ohio)
Project: TriHealth Thomas Comprehensive Care Center (Cincinnati, Ohio)

Design Firm: HGA (Milwaukee, Wis.)
Project: St. Elizabeth Cancer Center (Edgewood, Ky.)

Ambulatory – Pediatric

Design Firm: EYP (Atlanta, Ga.)
Project: University of Louisville Physicians Novak Center for Children’s Health (Louisville, Ky.)

Ambulatory – Specialty Clinic

Design Firm: Michael Hsu Office of Architecture (Austin, Texas)
Project: Westlake Dermatology, Highland Park (Dallas, Texas)

Extended Care & Assisted Living Facilities – Long-term Care

Design Firm: Handel Architects (New York, N.Y.)
Project: Inspir Carnegie Hill (New York, N.Y.)

Extended Care & Assisted Living Facilities – Mental Health

Design Firm: UrbanWork Architecture (Minneapolis, Minn.)
Project: Guild Crisis and Recovery Center (Savage, Minn.)

Hospitals – Academic/Teaching Hospital

Design Firm: Perkins&Will (Washington, D.C.)
Project: University of Virginia, University Hospital Expansion (Charlottesville, Va.)

Hospitals – Community

Design Firm: HKS Architects (Dallas, Texas)
Project: Texas Health Frisco (Frisco, Texas)

Best of Competition

Design Firm Name: HKS Architects (Dallas, Texas)
Project: Texas Health Frisco (Frisco, Texas)

Transformation & Innovation Award

Design Firm: di Domenico + Partners (Long Island City, N.Y.)
Project: Jacob K. Javits Center Medical Station & Temporary Field Hospital (New York, N.Y.)

Winners were honored at an IIDA virtual reception on Nov. 10. All winning projects can be viewed on the IIDA website. For more info, visit

Tags: ,

Posted November 15, 2021

More Articles: