BIA Opens Entries for 2021 Brick in Architecture Awards

The Brick Industry Association has opened entries for the international 2021 Brick in Architecture Awards, the premier architectural design competition featuring fired-clay brick.

Entries are due by Nov. 1, with 50% fewer required materials for faster submission. All submissions must use clay brick as the project’s primary building material. Entrants must be either an architect or designer employed by an architectural, Design-Build or landscaping design firm.

Per the competition rules, eligible projects include any work of architecture completed since Jan. 1 1, 2016, in which new clay brick products comprise the predominant exterior building or paving material (over 50%) including: face or hollow brick, building brick, thin brick, paving brick, glazed brick, structural glazed facing tile, new clay brick products in special shapes and/or a combination of these.

Debuting last year, an overall Craftsmanship Award will honor exceptionally artful installation by an individual mason or a team of masons.

Entries must be submitted online in one or more of these categories:

  1. Commercial
  2. Education – K-12
  3. Education – Colleges & Universities (Higher Education)*
  4. Residential – Single Family
  5. Residential – Multi-Family
  6. Paving & Landscape Projects
  7. Historic Renovation**
  8. International (if project is located outside of the U.S., Canada or a U.S. Territory, it must be entered in this category)

*Includes residence halls & academic/administrative buildings.
**This does not need to meet the 50% or more new brick requirement but must have 50% or more brick renovated on the project.

All submitted projects will be posted to BIA’s online photo gallery. Judged by peers, the 2021 winners will be announced in January.

For details, visit

Tags: , , ,

Posted August 20, 2021

More Articles: