AIA Recognizes 7 Projects with Healthcare Design Awards

The American Institute of Architects Academy of Architecture for Health has recognized seven projects with its Healthcare Design Awards for designs that help solve aesthetic, civic, urban and social problems while also being functional and sustainable. Projects were awarded in the following categories:

“Category A Built” represents a project with a construction cost that was less than $25 million

  • Story County Medical Center Outpatient Unit Expansion, Nevada, Iowa (project team: INVISION Architecture; Graham Construction)
  • Maggie’s Centre Barts, London, United Kingdom (project team: Steven Holl Architects; associate architect: jmarchitects, Sir Robert McAlpine)

“Category B Built” represents a project with a construction cost that was more than $25 million

  • Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital Stanford, Palo Alto, California (project team: Perkins+Will and HGA Architects and Planners; DPR)
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Monmouth, Monmouth, New Jersey (project team: Perkins+Will; Turner Construction Company)
  • Cedars-Sinai Advanced Health Sciences Pavilion, Los Angeles, California (project team: HOK; Hathaway Dinwiddie)

“Category C Renovations/Remodels” represents a project primarily built within an existing hospital or clinical space or the adaptive reuse of an existing building to a healthcare use

  • Cedars-Sinai, Playa Vista Physician Office & Urgent Care, Playa Vista, California (project team: ZGF Architects LLP, TIS Construction Services)

“Category D Unbuilt” represents a project commissioned for compensation by a client with the authority and intention to build:

  • Eastside Health Clinic, Portland, Oregon (project team: Ankrom Moisan Architects)

Visit AIA’s website to view photos of award winners:



Tags: , ,

Posted September 12, 2018

More Articles:

Upcoming Events